Home > Links > UCT Member Departments

UCT Member Departments

Botany Department

The Botany Department at the University of Cape Town strives for excellence in teaching and research in physiology, ecology, evolution, systematics and conservation of terrestrial and aquatic plants, particularly as they relate to the flora of the Southwestern Cape Region of South Africa.

Department of Geological Sciences

The department was initially founded in 1895 as the School of Mines at the South African College which later became the University of Cape Town.

Environmental and Geographical Sciences Department

The interaction between humans and their environment and the variability of this environment is a common theme in the department’s teaching and research initiatives. The EGS department offers a number of degrees for students registered in either the Faculties of Science or Humanities.

Oceanography Department

The Department of Oceanography is the only such Department in sub-Saharan Africa, and is the major focus for teaching and research in physical oceanography, atmospheric science and ocean climatology in South Africa and elsewhere in Africa. The Department has research groupings in sea-going observations, satellite marine remote sensing, coastal oceanography, numerical modeling, marine and coastal meteorology, and climate variability.

Department of Biological Sciences

The Department of Biological Sciences at UCT was established in 2013 as a result of a merger between the Botany and Zoology Departments. The Department houses the Bolus Herbarium, the Percy FitzPatrick Institute, DST/NRF Centre of Excellence (PFIAO), the Plant Conservation Unit (PCU) and the Animal Demography Unit. Other smaller groups coordinate research on conservation, ecology, entomology, evolution, mammals, palaeobiology, and physiology and systematics.