Home > Links > Research Units

Research Units

Animal Demographic Unit

The Animal Demography Unit (formerly the Avian Demography Unit), or ADU as it is mostly known in the vernacular, is a research unit of the University of Cape Town. Initially it was built on the nucleus of the South African Bird Ringing Unit (SAFRING) and the Southern African Bird Atlas Project (SABAP). The ADU was established in December 1991 and forms part of the Department of Statistical Sciences at the University of Cape Town. Over the years, the ADU has grown far beyond its starting point. In January 2008 the ADU was formally transferred to the Department of Zoology.

Environmental Policy Research Unit

The EfD center in South Africa is called the Environmental Policy Research Unit (EPRU). EPRU is a research group which seeks to enhance environmental policy making in South Africa through rigorous policy research and extension in order to attain sustainable development and poverty reduction. EPRU is funded by the Swedish International Development Cooperation Agency (Sida) through the Environment for Development (EfD) initiative, and managed by the Environmental Economics Unit at the University of Gothenburg. EPRU is an independent research unit in the School of Economics. Martine Visser is the Director of EPRU and the Coordinator of EfD in South Africa.

Renewable Marine Resources Assessment and Management Group (MARAM)

The MARAM Group is involved with research leading to scientific recommendations for the regulation of a number of the world’s marine resources.

SA Research Chair in Marine Ecology & Fisheries

The Group does research in support of management in marine social-ecological systems under global change, focussing on fisheries. Their principle geographical focus is the Benguela upwelling system, a very productive large marine ecosystem intertwined with the societies of South Africa and Namibia.

Climate Systems Analysis Group

CSAG is a dynamic group of multi-disciplinary scientists with research projects linked to all aspects of the climate system.

Environmental Evaluation Unit

The Environmental Evaluation Unit (EEU) is an independent, self-funded research, consulting and training unit based at the University of Cape Town. Founded in 1985, the EEU has established itself as a leader in the fields of integrated environmental management and sustainable development responding to local, regional and global environmental challenges using an interdisciplinary and participatory approach.